Webber demoted to 11th, promoting Perez

Monday 24th September 2012, 01:13 by Ryan Wood 

Red Bull Racing, Getty Images

Mark Webber has been demoted to 11th by the stewards after they deeming the Red Bull driver "left the track and gained an advantage when he rejoined."

Webber had finished 10th to score a single point after a difficult race, but a retrospective drive-through penalty, which comes in the form of a 20-second time addition, pushed him a place lower, promoting Sergio Perez to 10th.

The penalty was the result of a battle between the Australian and Kamui Kobayashi, which Webber believed had been a clean one, though he respected the stewards decision.

"It was a difficult weekend for me," said Webber. "It's not easy to overtake at this track, so you’re making your life hard when you have a bad qualifying. You need a bit of luck to make progress and I didn’t have any!

"I thought Kobayashi and I had a good clean fight, but the stewards thought otherwise and I respect their decision."

A statement from the governing body added: "Notwithstanding that the distance by which car 2 [Webber] left the circuit was minimal, advantage was gained hence a breach did in fact occur. Such a breach has consistently attracted a drive-through penalty."

Revised 2012 Singapore GP Results:

01. S. Vettel Red Bull
02. J. Button McLaren +8.9 18
03. F. Alonso Ferrari +15.2 15
04. P. di Resta Force India +19.0 12
05. N. Rosberg Mercedes +34.7 10
06. K. Raikkonen Lotus +35.7 8
07. R. Grosjean Lotus +36.6 6
08. F. Massa Ferrari +42.8 4
09. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso +45.8 2
10. S. Perez Sauber +50.6 1
11. M. Webber* Red Bull +1:07.1
12. T. Glock Marussia +1:31.9
13. K. Kobayashi Sauber +1:37.1  
14. N. Hulkenberg Force India +1:39.4  
15. H. Kovalainen Caterham +1 lap  
16. C. Pic* Marussia +1 lap  
17. P. de la Rosa HRT +1 lap
18. B. Senna Williams +2 laps  
19. V. Petrov Caterham +2 laps  
20. J. Vergne Toro Rosso +16 laps  
21. M. Schumacher Mercedes +16 laps
22. P. Maldonado Williams +18 laps  
23. N. Karthikeyan HRT +24 laps  
24. L. Hamilton McLaren +32 laps  


mexican gp

Mexico signs five-year contract to host F1 race


Lotus already well into design of 2015 car


Ricciardo has no desire to race for Ferrari


Wolff injured in Mercedes team building bike crash

german gp

German GP organiser blames Vettel for poor turnout

mexican gp

Mexico will return in 2015 confirms Ecclestone