Button takes faultless win in chaotic race

© McLaren
2 September 2012 by TF1T Staff | M

Jenson Button took a faultless pole to flag victory at the 2012 Belgian Grand Prix in his 50th race for the McLaren outfit.

The start of the race saw a chaotic crash which took out four of the leading cars including championship leader Fernando Alonso. The crash, caused by Romain Grosjean, resulted in a safety car for the first four laps as they cleared the Lotus, Ferrari, McLaren of Lewis Hamilton and Sauber of Sergio Perez.

As the race restarted, it was Sebastian Vettel who made up the most places to secure second ahead of Kimi Raikkonen.

For a full race report, check out our live commentary here.

2012 Belgian GP Results:

01. J. Button McLaren
02. S. Vettel Red Bull +13.6 18
03. K. Raikkonen Lotus +25.3 15
04. N. Hulkenberg Force India +27.8 12
05. F. Massa Ferrari +29.8 10
06. M. Webber Red Bull +31.2 8
07. M. Schumacher Mercedes +53.3 6
08. J. Vergne Toro Rosso +58.8 4
09. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso +1:02.9 2
10. P. di Resta Force India +1:03.7 1
11. N. Rosberg Mercedes +1:05.1
12. B. Senna Williams +1:11.5
13. K. Kobayashi Sauber +1 lap  
14. V. Petrov Caterham +1 lap  
15. T. Glock Marussia +1 lap  
16. C. Pic Marussia +1 lap  
17. H. Kovalainen Caterham +1 lap
18. P. de la Rosa HRT +1 lap  
19. N. Karthikeyan HRT +15 laps  
20. P. Maldonado Williams +40 laps  
21. S. Perez Sauber +44 laps
22. F. Alonso Ferrari +44 laps  
23. L. Hamilton McLaren +44 laps  
24. R. Grosjean Lotus +44 laps  



Dall’Ara blames Ferrari for Sauber's struggles

russian gp

FIA gives Russia's Sochi GP track green light


Lotterer to replace Kobayashi for Belgian GP


Lotus record £64 million loss during 2013


Caterham confirm new-look nose for Belgian GP


Ecclestone needs educating on social media benefits