Alonso converts pole into German GP victory

Octane Photographic
22 July 2012 by TF1T Staff | M

Fernando Alonso converted his second pole position of the 2012 season to secure his third win of the year, further extending his championship lead.

The Ferrari driver came under increasing pressure from both Sebastian Vettel and Jenson Button in the closing stages of the race, but he held off brilliantly to take 25 points.

Vettel managed to overcome Button in the closing laps to take second, but his overtake, which happened off-circuit, is under investigation.

Button made his way through the field from sixth to finish third ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, the Sauber duo led by Kamui Kobayashi came in fifth and sixth with Sergio Perez just holding off Michael Schumacher.

Update: Vettel has been handed a 20-second time penalty and drops to fifth.

For a full race report, check out our live commentary here.

2012 German GP Results:

01. F. Alonso Ferrari
02. S. Vettel Red Bull +3.7 18
03. J. Button McLaren +6.9 15
04. K. Raikkonen Lotus +16.4 12
05. K. Kobayashi Sauber +21.9 10
06. S. Perez Sauber +27.8 8
07. M. Schumacher Mercedes +28.9 6
08. M. Webber Red Bull +46.9 4
09. N. Hulkenberg Force India +48.1 2
10. N. Rosberg Mercedes +48.8 1
11. P. di Resta Force India +59.2
12. F. Massa Ferrari +1:11.4
13. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso +1:16.8  
14. J. Vergne Toro Rosso +1:16.9  
15. P. Maldonado Williams +1 lap  
16. V. Petrov Caterham +1 lap  
17. B. Senna Williams +1 lap
18. R. Grosjean Lotus +1 lap  
19. H. Kovalainen Caterham +2 laps  
20. C. Pic Marussia +2 laps  
21. P. de la Rosa HRT +3 laps
22. T. Glock Marussia +3 laps  
23. N. Karthikeyan HRT +3 laps  
24. L. Hamilton McLaren +20 laps  



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal