Penalties result in German GP grid reshuffle

Saturday 21st July 2012, 23:54 by Ryan Wood 

A raft of penalties have altered the grid for Sunday's German Grand Prix quite dramatically, with all but eight drivers either losing or gaining positions.

Romain Grosjean, Nico Rosberg and Mark Webber were all handed five-place drops for changing their gearboxes, whilst Sergio Perez will be demoted five places for blocking Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso during Q2.

However, due to the way the penalties are served, Rosberg only loses four places rather than five, whilst Jean-Eric Vergne is the biggest winner, gaining three positions.

2012 German GP Grid (post penalties):

02. S. Vettel Red Bull -
08. M. Webber* Red Bull 5
07. L. Hamilton McLaren 1
06. J. Button McLaren 1
14. B. Senna Williams 2
01. F. Alonso Ferrari -
13. F. Massa Ferrari 1
04. N. Hulkenberg Force India 1
05. P. Maldonado Williams 1
12. K. Kobayashi Sauber 1
16. S. Perez* Sauber 5
18. V. Petrov Caterham 2
10. K. Raikkonen Lotus -
03. M. Schumacher Mercedes 1
21. N. Rosberg* Mercedes 4
20. R. Grosjean* Lotus 5
15. J. Vergne Toro Rosso 3
09. P. di Resta Force India -
23. P. de la Rosa HRT -
11. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso -
17. H. Kovalainen Caterham 2
19. C. Pic Marussia 2
22. T. Glock Marussia -
24. N. Karthikeyan HRT -



Competition: Win a McLaren technical team t-shirt


Massa blasts FIA stewards over Magnussen ruling


Rossi takes Marussia reserve role after Caterham axe


Hamilton not worried by Vettel/Mercedes rumour


Alonso says Ferrari are going backwards

mexican gp

Mexico signs five-year contract to host F1 race