FIA drops second DRS zone for European GP

Monday 18th June 2012, 17:59 by Ryan Wood 

Red Bull Racing, Getty Images

The FIA has opted to drop the second drag-reduction zone for the European Grand Prix after reviewing its effectiveness from last season.

Instead the race will feature the one zone between turns 10 and 12.

Detection has yet to be confirmed but will likely remain in the same place as 2011, just before turn eight where the following driver must be within a second of the car ahead.

As the car approaches the sweeping bend that is T11, they can activate the rear-wing to provide an additional 7-8 kph boost along the straight before the wing automatically closes in the braking zone for turn 12.



Hamilton says top ten finish probably out of reach


Button unfazed by McLaren seat speculation

Hungary GP | FP3

FP3: Hamilton pips Rosberg as pack closes in

Hungary GP | FP2

FP2: Hamilton and Rosberg dominate practice


Competition: Win a McLaren technical team t-shirt


Massa blasts FIA stewards over Magnussen ruling