Rosberg thrills in China to take maiden win

Mercedes AMG F1 Team
15 April 2012 by Ryan Wood | M

Nico Rosberg dominated in China to win the race, his first and Mercedes first since 1955, with a 20 second margin to McLaren's Jenson Button.

Rosberg converted his first pole position into the race win in a fairly straight forward fashion, unaware of the drama behind him which saw just a few seconds covering the top handful of cars.

McLaren completed the all-Mercedes powered podium with Lewis Hamilton coming in behind his team-mate to secure a hat-trick of thirds in 2012.

Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel duelled in the closing laps, with the Australian coming out on top to take fourth and 12 points, whilst Vettel had to settle for fifth having climbed from P11.

Romain Grosjean scored his first race finish for Lotus, and his first points for the team with sixth, ahead of the two Williams cars. Alonso and Kobayashi completed the top ten.

For a full race report, check out our live race report here.

2012 Chinese GP Results: (Fastest lap: K. Kobayashi 1:39.960)

01. N. Rosberg Mercedes
02. J. Button McLaren +20.6 18
03. L. Hamilton McLaren +26.0 15
04. M. Webber Red Bull +27.9 12
05. S. Vettel Red Bull +30.4 10
06. R. Grosjean Lotus +31.4 8
07. B. Senna Williams +34.5 6
08. P. Maldonado Williams +35.6 4
09. F. Alonso Ferrari +37.2 2
10. K. Kobayashi Sauber +38.7 1
11. S. Perez Sauber +41.0
12. P. di Resta Force India +42.2
13. F. Massa Ferrari +42.7  
14. K. Raikkonen Lotus +50.5  
15. N. Hulkenberg Force India +51.2  
16. J. Vergne Toro Rosso +51.7  
17. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso +1:03.1
18. V. Petrov Caterham +1 lap  
19. T. Glock Marussia +1 lap  
20. C. Pic Marussia +1 lap  
21. P. de la Rosa HRT +1 lap
22. N. Karthikeyan HRT +2 laps  
23. H. Kovalainen Caterham +3 laps  
24. M. Schumacher Mercedes +44 laps  



Red Bull won't help Ricciardo with team orders


F1 set for team radio clampdown in 2015


Fiat boss criticises Di Montezemolo's comments


Billionaire Stroll looking to buy Sauber F1 Team


Wolff calls on F1 fans to stop booing drivers


Albers resigns as Caterham team principal