Kobayashi promoted to seventh for race

Saturday 08th October 2011, 11:43  

Kamui Kobayashi has been promoted to seventh following a lenghtly discussion amongst the governing body, the FIA.

The Japanese driver will start ahead of Michael Schumacher who drops to eighth, ahead of both Renaults; Bruno Senna and Vitaly Petrov.

None of the four aforementioned drivers set a timed lap in Q3, but the Sauber driver attempted to, before aborting it.

Meanwhile, Schumacher crossed the line to start his a second after the flag fell and therefore completed less running than Kobayashi.

Neither Renault left the pits, and therefore they will start in the final two positions within the top ten.

Regulation 36.2 B: If more than one driver fails to set a time during Q1, Q2 or Q3 they will be arranged in the following order:

i) any driver who attempted to set a qualifying time by starting a flying lap;

ii) any driver who failed to start a flying lap;

iii) any driver who failed to leave the pits during the period.

Revised Japanese GP Top-10 Qualifying Results:

PosDriverTeamQ1 TimeQ2 TimeQ3 Time
01. S. Vettel Red Bull 1:33.051 1:31.424 1:30.466
06. M. Webber Red Bull 1:33.135 1:31.576 1:31.156
03. L. Hamilton McLaren 1:32.843 1:31.139 1:30.617
02. J. Button McLaren 1:32.947 1:31.434 1:30.475
09. B. Senna Renault 1:33.359 1:32.297 No Time
05. F. Alonso Ferrari 1:32.817 1:31.612 1:30.886
04. F. Massa Ferrari 1:33.235 1:31.909 1:30.804
07. K. Kobayashi Sauber 1:32.626 1:32.380 No Time
10. V. Petrov Renault 1:32.877 1:32.245 No Time
08. M. Schumacher Mercedes 1:33.748 1:32.116 No Time



Ricciardo has no desire to race for Ferrari


Wolff injured in Mercedes team building bike crash

german gp

German GP organiser blames Vettel for poor turnout

mexican gp

Mexico will return in 2015 confirms Ecclestone


Magnussen '100% blameless' in Massa crash - Boullier

russian gp

Ecclestone has no concerns over Russian GP