Hamilton and Alonso receive 20-sec penalties

Sunday 10th April 2011, 19:49  

Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso both received 20-second time penalties following the conclusion of the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Hamilton received his for excessive weaving whilst defending his position against Alonso, whilst the Spaniard received his for the accident he caused between the two a lap later.

Hamilton drops to eight as a consequence, Alonso remains sixth.

Revised Malaysian GP Results:

* - denotes 20-second time penalty.

01. S. Vettel Red Bull 1:37.39.832 25
02. J. Button McLaren +3.2 18
03. N. Heidfeld Renault +25.0 15
04. M. Webber Red Bull +26.3 12
05. F. Massa Ferrari +36.9 10
06. F. Alonso* Ferrari +57.2 8
08. L. Hamilton* McLaren +1:09.9 4
07. K. Kobayashi Sauber +1:06.4 6
09. M. Schumacher Mercedes +1:24.8 2
10. P. di Resta Force India +1:30.5 1
11. A. Sutil Force India +1 lap  
12. N. Rosberg Mercedes +1 lap  
13. S. Buemi Toro Rosso +1 lap  
14. J. Alguersuari Toro Rosso +1 lap  
15. H. Kovalainen Team Lotus +1 lap  
16. T. Glock Virgin +2 laps  
17. V. Petrov Renault Retired
18. V. Liuzzi Hispania Retired  
19. J. d'Ambrosio Virgin Retired  
20. J. Trulli Team Lotus Retired  
21. S. Perez Sauber Retired
22. R. Barrichello Williams Retired  
23. N. Karthikeyan Hispania Retired
24. P. Maldonado Williams Retired



Newey warns F1 fast becoming a one-make series


Ferrari sacks engine chief amid restructure

tech talk

Tech Talk: Marussia innovation boosts Ferrari


Hamilton claims FRIC ban will benefit him

f1 news

Drivers need to be able to speak their mind - Horner


Caterham launches legal action against employees